⋆⭒˚.⋆ Welcome - one and all!
This is where I just post general daily logs & things that doesn't really go on any of my pages.
Types of things I blog about:
- daily life
- game dev progress
- achievements (real life & in games)
This is where I just post general daily logs & things that doesn't really go on any of my pages.
I'm so fed up with work it's not even funny - I'm currently working two jobs where I work as an operator in an escape room, both are affected by the war going on so we barely have any business, but the stark difference between how the two places handle it are like the sky and the earth. One place has a boss who tries his best to pay us a living wage, if we have even one game during our shift - we get paid for the WHOLE shift, if we get no games then with get paid 12$ for waiting at home as stand by. But today I was working at the other job, where the second boss decided that we don't deserve a living wage - she literally asked of me to arrive to work just to operate one game plus another hour on the clock where she expected me to clean. I only got paid 3 hours today when shifts are usually a minimum 6 hours period, mind you it takes me an hour to get to work. I wasted 5 hours of my life to get paid for 3 hours? Does that even sound fair?
Not to mention all of the cleaning at the job I want to quit is put on me as the only AFAB employee. Someone who works here literally asked me how to do the dishes - you cannot work here under the age of eighteen, mind you (not for shady reasons, we just usually work during night hours when it's illegal for minors to work). Like why are we taking in employees who can't do half of the job, which is cleaning the place? I get paid more than the other employees, sure, but it's due to seniority and not because I'm doing so much.
Another thing that pisses me off is how I submit my shifts ON TIME unlike a lot of people who work at my jobs, and the boss has the audacity to ask me "hey can you come on a day you specifically told us you can't come?" ACTUALLY NO! Does she think I submit shifts for fun? For shits and giggles? Not to mention one of the days she wants me to come in - I have an exam with no re-dos. Even if it wasn't an important exam, let's say I had a date set up with a handsome fella, it still doesn't give her the 'go ahead' to ask me to still come in. Your workers have lives, and if they have something planned, fucking respect that!
"Wait, you said she told you to clean during your last hour at work?" yep, but instead I watched Steel Ball Run like the GOAT I am ✨✨✨
Hello everynyan, I'm so so happy that I'm back and kicking – these have been a couple of hard weeks for me, namely university finals & war being dropped on me at the same time, considering they were not on my bingo this year.
"I'm tired of living through historical events," I said, historically. But on a serious note, I'm so exhausted that right after submitting all of my assignments (no, my university didn't give me any extensions, woes of e-learning) I had a mini crash out and just didn't know what to do with myself once I was free from the shackles of responsibility (and then half an hour later I was forced to go to the bomb shelter because of a siren).
The thing, it is estimated that the war is going to last for a long time (please refrain from making WW3 jokes, this is not helping) so I'm trying to live a "normal" life. I'm off work this week, but next week I should be back to working full time & have been doing driving lessons this week (because I refuse to forget what I learned so far). There are bomb shelters in most places, so I'm not worried about getting hurt, but you know what actually gets hurt? My sleep schedule. Because tell me why I have to run to our basement four times a night, sometimes even more! How are people supposed to function like that!!
In better news - I started doing practical driving tests right after I passed the theoretical, and so far it's going really great! I have an amazing teacher who's also an anti-anxiety coach as her other business, which means she's really good at directing me from both the technical & emotional parts of driving. What, you didn't know driving had so much emotional baggage? Me neither! Apparently, the way I drove made it obvious that I'm a bit of a control freak that needs to rationalize everything with logic (driving lessons & therapy in one go - what a bargain!) so one of the main things we're working on is me relaxing and being one with the "road's flow". But I am getting better!
And despite everything going on, it is my friend's birthday this week and her gift just arrived in the mail, can't wait to actually give it to her!! (and in case you're snooping Rashel, I'm not going to write here what I'm getting you! >:3c) Hopefully next week will be much easier than what's going on right now, considering I can't even sit for a whole hour without SOMETHING happening! I now understand all of those isekai protagonists who just go on to have peaceful lives... Wish that were me...
Also for anyone wondering about Game Dev stuff... I'm still not back to working on my games, I feel like I need a couple of days of recovery to get into the groove of everything, but before I went on hiatus I was working on a game that's basically (gosh, this sounds so bad) is mainly made to be sold on Steam. Now hold on before you judge (too harshly)! This has been my dad's idea, because while he has become supportive of my dream to become an indie game dev (this took a decade to happen, by the way), he is frustrated that I haven't finished any proper projects. The idea is to make a simple game and put it on Steam (most of my projects need a long development time, so I had to come up with a whole new idea), and I'll update the game over time with new levels and fix bugs - meaning it's not a cash grab or anything, just a simpler project to have a small income while I work on passion projects. I already did the paperwork for selling on itch.io & the only thing left for me to do to sell it on Steam is paying 100$, so I did my homework on the economical front so once I finish developing nothing will get me by surprise.
Another thing I want to say about game development – since I'm done with most of my finals (I have an exam in two weeks, but exams are easy for me so do not be afraid, I legit always get 80-90% unlike assignments; blame it on my ADHD baby) so I'm going back to working on my website for game development stuff specifically under the pseudonym KreepyKrapiva. The design I started coding looks so corporate to me now, I really want it to look more fun! I wanna try the style of this website, so it looks like a physical space you can explore. I'm not sure about the theme wholly, but a creepy cabin in the woods sounds about right (krapiva means nettle in Russian, so I'm leaning into the forest-y theme here). What do you guys think? Feel free to give me some advice / suggestions in the comments above.
I don't have anyone to celebrate with + I work the evening shift, so today my duty is to third-wheel couples! It's funny how I never got to celebrate Valentine's in my life (even if I was in a relationship, something would get in the way - my last ex had a 'workplace emergency') and it kinda makes me sad - like I want to properly celebrate at least once in my life, I love the heart shaped decor & cute desserts & just having someone to spend that day with, but people literally mock me to my face that I want these things. Saying the holiday is 'stupid' & 'cliché' – like okay calm down, get off your high horse you self-important twat, I never told you that you need to celebrate it; I'm allowed to mourn the fact that there are life experiences I never got to have, especially when I already missed so many things in life because of disability.
So regardless if you celebrate Valentine's or not, I implore you to be a bit kinder to everyone you meet - as you don't know what they might be going through, and a lil bit of kindness goes a long way~
I passed my driving theory test on Tuesday!! On the first try ever!!!
I'm still in a bit of a shock, I heard that most people only pass on their fourth try, and because I only crunched for a couple of days (my parents were pressuring me to just pick a date for the exam as I was putting it off for a couple of years now) but I managed somehow. All the questioning relating to priority I got right (which are usually the ones people fail at) and I got 3 different questions on train-tracks signage (which is easy if you remember that each red line on the sign represents 100 meters that are between the sign and the train tracks), everything I didn't answer correctly are legit things that I haven't studied yet or have to do with driving a stick (I'm learning auto so huh??) so I mark this whole ordeal as a massive success!
Because I finished theory, now I need to do physical driving lessons and that's going to hurt my wallet so much... I already found a teacher, she has some really amazing reviews, but she's also one of the priciest teachers possible. Our first lesson is next week and I'm hoping I'll do well! My biggest concern is that it'll take me a while to learn the different driving modes (I don't think that's the right term but y'know - parking, neutral, etc.) and remember to use only one foot on the pedals (I already kNOW my left foot will try to do some shit).
Anyways, after the test I went to visit my best friend in her university (I'm a distance student for a London university, she actually goes to hers like a normal person) after she finished her chemistry exam (where none of those doing it looked alive after finishing that exam, tears were shed and the like) and we went to the mall to just hang out per our original plan, but only after we sat down to eat at a cafe did I break the news to her. I was actually hiding from her that I was studying for my theory exam, just so she focuses on her exam and doesn't worry about me, I basically slid the paper that says I passed across the table like I was announcing a pregnancy or something. Obviously she was happy for me, as she pushed me to get a license since we basically met a year ago, and we celebrated with some chocolate cake (photo bellow)! It's nice to have people who actually support me in my life, kinda reminds me how my ex was jealous and mean because I got accepted into my current university (she legit was saying shit like "why are you doing this to yourself?" when I told her the news all giddy and ecstatic because I got accepted into a prestigious university, and you can legit pinpoint this as a moment where I started falling out of love with her), and also these are people I want to hype up as much as possible!
Also something not connected to anything I talked about before – I'm thinking of modding my Sims 2 game, which is going to be a bit hard since I'm playing it emulated on the steam deck & it's going to be the first time I get mods for it (I started modding the Sims 3 & my Sims 4 game is basically more mods than actual game, if you show my copy of The Sims 4 to one of its developers they would NOT recognize it because even the UI & music are modded) and as a kid the mods never worked on my game so I basically only know only vanilla Sims 2. If anyone has quality of life mod recommendations for it, please drop them in the guestbook, I'd really appreciate it!
Since I updated my about page a few days ago & talked there how I wanna work on my games more, I have been pretty adamant on working on them! There is a bit of progress with a couple of my games, mostly mechanics analysis with some story notes I forgot to write in my notebook. I also took this opportunity to see what my father says (he has 30+ years of programming experience under his belt and we rant a lot about bad code in games together) about how I built some of my game systems & mechanics, he mostly noted that I need to simplify my game events because I made them too rigid & over-complicated with my calculations when I actually need to let the machine handle them. But otherwise from loading assets queue and how NPCs act, most of it seems to be going in the right direction & basically got the greenlight (not that I needed it, but it is appreciated to get that from someone who knows a lot about programming) to start coding the game. I guess the first game I'm making good progress on is the Doom-clone, which surprises like anyone who doesn't know me personally.
I will try to make a website for just my game development stuff at some point, but I'm not sure when I will finish it. It took a couple of weeks to make this website somehow look nice, despite using bases, so making a whole new website from scratch because I have very specific ideas for it might take some time. For now I will make the vaguest updates known to mankind about them, my goal this year is to finish at least two of my games (excluding the one I'm making for a uni class)!
This month has been a pretty poor reading month (for context: in the past I would read around 15 books a month) and the only book I finished was an audiobook I listened to in the last couple of days (and it was a re-read on top of that). I'm hoping to read more of my Boss Fight Books & finish the 9th volume of Inept Villainess since the next volume and anime are coming this spring!
Because most people here don't really know me, I do need to mention something – horror is one of my favourite genres ever, a lot of the games I want to write are horror or have some horror elements to them, and some of my comfort media is very horror-adjacent. But lately (past few months) I have been playing & watching media more from other genres (currently watching the Fallout TV show's second season & I want to gush about it on its own page so badly, but in due time) so very suddenly getting the urge to buy & play a bunch of horror games is a nice little change!
I will talk about ALL of the games I got this month, not just the horror games, so it will be under the readmore with very short thoughts.
I also thought that I bought more horror games (my mistake, I have the memory of a goldfish) and I actually bought Mouthwashing and SOMA back in December of last year. But these are the games I got recently, expect me to talk about them sometime soon, if there is a game you want me to talk more about in depth, feel free to add a message in my guestbook!
Found this pilot on YT this morning right after waking up, I adore the dieselpunk aesthetic with the harrowing WWI-inspired storyline. I want to rewatch it a few times before making a page dedicated to it but please watch it:
Also may I remind you that indie projects need financial support, you can get merch for the series HERE!
In a way. So right after I started to really making this website a home, I got severly sick with a viral infection in my throat (suspected culprit: the two people who basically sneezed & coughed in my face during my shift on Saturday the 18th). And while this website is not a place of fanfiction, it is a "fan" project since I'm talking about all of the things that I like, and I write here a lot (so? fan-non-fiction?) which makes it fall under the curse. I think.
The fact of the matter is, my throat still hurts, even after so many doses of antibiotics I still have those weird coughs that just going on and on... and I can't catch my breath, so I'm still out of work which is pretty nice (I need to quit, considering my bosses calling me a liar and thought I was pretending to be sick until I gave them the doctor's notice. I only missed one shift during my employment with them, so they have no reason to think that by the way). I'm going to get my test results today after I post this, so fingers crossed whatever is wrong with me is easy to cure.
I did not hope for my first post here to involve my current job woes, but here goes – I might get fired from my job.
Now hold on, before you say anything, I will admit – I'm not a perfect employee or colleague... but the actual reasons I'm getting fired (I'm saying it like that because my boss only threatened me with unemployment, I'm still legally working there) have nothing to do with what I actually have and have not done.
To explain everything, I need to explain my job – I'm an escape room operator, which means I'm the person who checks in guests into the escape room & takes payment, explain the story & rules for it, watch them do all of the puzzles and that they don't go above the one hour limit, & then greet them again when they exit & make sure they had fun. And I work in two different rooms, but they're owned basically by the same bosses.
This means my job involves a lot of costumer service, involving small groups in closed spaces. While not as stressful as most jobs where you have to deal with people, you still need to be the best host possible because people come here to enjoy themselves. My two bosses think my brain is too small to get that, which leads me to the first point:
I've had complaints from customers – and that's a given, not everyone is going to like you, that's just how people are. But the first case involved someone SHOVING A CAMERA IN MY FACE FUCKING FILMING ME and got offended when I told them to stop. I still tried to be as civil as possible, but the customer lied about me to my boss (let's call her 🛎) and said I was rude & that their holiday was ruined (they were really happy clams at the end of the game, and even thanked me in person for 'fixing things'... gosh I hate people like that). Of course my dumb bitch of a boss sided with the customer! Because why would the customer lie? 🥺 Oh, but she's too lazy to check the mics & cameras, or my friend who was visiting me at work who was a witness to how this customer berated me to tears. But nope, I got a shitty phone call from 🛎 that made me want to quit the place.
Another customer complaint was the fact that I 'took them out of the room too early in the middle of the game' – the group were shitfaced drunk and didn't realize they finished all of the riddles. I wish I was joking. (not to mention they actually vandalized the last room, but who caaaares) They complained in their review, and of course, my other boss (let's call him ⚡) told me how that's not okay, and also said I was lying when I tried to explain my side.
The last customer complaint happened yesterday, and I'm not gonna lie, I am to blame for what happened. The group consisted of a mum, an auntie & and a little girl (the mum said she was eight years old but she looked no older than five) came to the more family friendly room I operate. I tried my best to make the room as accessible for the child as possible, as I always do when I got kids with their family (less loud noises, make sure the room is on easy mode, stuff like that). But this little girl was the type of kid that constantly needs attention and never was told 'no' in her life, so the entire time she's in the room she makes sure both adults watch her when she does silly things and would even pull physically from doing the actual riddles if they didn't do what she told them to do (which was either watch her dance or play with something in the room). Which is a cute thing kids do, I get that, but there is a time limit on how long you may be in the room; and that means that by the time the hour passed, they weren't even halfthrough the riddles on the easiest difficulty possible. So I did what I was taught when I was studying under one of my coworkers, and I told them that because the hour passed and there are guests right after them, that I unfortunately have to let them out (mind you, the whole days was BOOKED & I was pulling a double shift at this point because my coworker's cat had to go to the vet (very valid reason, I would never tell a pet owner to come to work when something happens to their baby).Obviously, they were upset and I tried to comfort the girl and let them have the snacks from the last room & take commemerative photos, but it legit seems like this girl learned for the first time that not everything is gonna go her way, which I really think sets her up to failure but it's not my place to tell parents that they have no idea how to raise their kid.
But when the customer called to tell my boss that, obviously she had to make it seem like I was crass (I heard part of that call, ⚡ doesn't know I was on the line for a bit) & was mean to her child, and that I done nothing to make the event better. Again, this can be checked by looking at the cameras and listening to mics, but we have established that my bosses don't care about the truth - they need a powertrip or two. But here were my boss was right – I shouldn't have let them out of the room as soon as the hour passed, and asked me why the hell I've done it without calling him first. I explained to him what I told you, dear reader, that that's what I was taught – and again, he called me a liar (without actually checking with the person who taught me that - curious!).
After that chat, he sent me a semi-official message where he noted a few things, let's go over them quick: that I have trouble being with customers (I mostly have raving 5 star reviews on the website, but sure), that I don't tell guests that I can make them extra snacks (??? yeah because they usually don't finish the first portion, 90% of the trash's weight in the end of the day is discarded popcorn no one ate), that I don't enlighten guests on riddles they didn't understand at the end of the game (I LOVE TALKING ABOUT THE RIDDLES AT THE END OF THE GAME SOME PEOPLE CAN'T MAKE ME SHUT UP - LEGIT PULLING SHIT OUT OF YOUR ASS), and that I don't wear the uniform jacket (I'm sorry, the uniform jacket? The one you never washed and gave me an allergic reaction, that jacket? Also I explained to him WHY I don't wear that, and he still haven't washed that by the by).
But hey, if I get fired – I'm gonna get reimbursement~! B)